Thursday, 22 September 2016

Lovely Little Patchwork Blog Tour

Why hello there!
Can anyone tell me how it is the end of September already! It seems I blink and another month has zoomed by. Christmas is starting to appear in stores and I have made the big decision to bury my head in the sand for a bit longer and just ignore it all. Usually I like to be organised but this year I am throwing caution to the wind and going for the last minute look. Be on the look out for posts full of regret in the week before Christmas ;-)


Anyhoo welcome to my stop on the Lovely Little Patchwork Blog Tour. This book has been written by a quilty idol of mine Kerri Horsley who I have followed for years, I was even a regular fabric purchaser when she had that gorgeous little Etsy store and used to voraciously devour her blog and wish I could create such pretties! I wont lie when I was invited to be part of this I may have squealed and hyperventilated more than once!

Kerri's book lives up to all expectations - so many pretty projects to sew and the photos are to die for! Initially I thought I would struggle deciding on what to make but then I saw the deer quilt and my mind was immediately made up. In fact that minute I saw it I knew that quilt block needed to be a cushion.


Interestingly I thought I was going to floral it up like Kerri's quilt and create a similar look but my eye kept getting drawn to all the monochrome prints on my shelf. I decided to go for it and create my cushion using the on trend colours of black, white and mint. Now this is a complete departure for me as you all know but I am so glad I took the leap because the cushion turned out super cute!


I used Moda Thicket for the monochrome prints and added a touch of Nordic (ears) and Hello Bear for the mint backdrop. Once the block was made it was easy to add more mint and I loved adding the black inset border to lift it all up.

Piecing the cushion wasn't as hard as I thought and I am so grateful I had just read a tutorial by Sedef of  Down Grapevine Lane where she had mentioned starching fabrics before cutting, it absolutely made a difference to my block in terms of precision. I was pretty nervous to start but it came together pretty quickly and with only one need for a seam ripper (always remember right sides together!)

For quilting I decided to stick with the modern theme and I love the look and the texture it gave. I am getting so much braver with my quilting and I really am happy being a straight line girl. I just love how it looks on both modern and traditional pieces.

The cushion size I used is 50cm so she is lovely and large, I am a bit obsessed with big squishy cushions these days. They are popping up all over the house.

 But the best thing about this cushion was it was finally something handmade I could put in Cooper's room. 10 year old boys are hard to decorate for and I was worried showing him, assuming it would just end up on the couch with all my other pretties. But that morning after I dropped him at school I went looking for it only to find this in his room - definitely a win in my book!

He had even made his bed which believe me is an absolute first! Tonight he is fast asleep cuddled up with it, it is the best feeling to see things I make being used and loved!

Now there are lots of amazingly talented bloggers out there creating amazing pieces from Kerri's book so make sure you go and have a look at all of them! Here is a full schedule of the tour so you can visit the other makers to see their fabulous creations. You can also follow along on Instagram with the hashtag #lovelylittlepatchworkblogtour. Thank you for visiting and a massive thanks to Tuva Publishing and Kerri for giving me the opportunity to take part.

28.08.2016Sarah Edgar@sarahedgarprettyfabricsalittlehappyplace.blogspot.co.uk
29.08.2016Heidi Staples@fabricmuttfabricmutt.blogspot.com
30.08.2016Megan Jimenez@QuiltStoryMegquiltstory.blogspot.com
02.09.2016Cheri Lehnow@tinkerellentinkerwiththis.blogspot.com
03.09.2016Ange Hamilton@alittlepatchworkalittlepatchwork.wordpress.com
04.09.2016Sedef Imer@downgrapevinelanedowngrapevinelane.com
05.09.2016Kimberly Jolly@fatquartershopfatquartershop.blogspot.com
06.09.2016Samantha Dorn@aqua_paisleyaquapaisleystudio.com
07.09.2016Ayda Algın@cafenohutcafenohut.blogspot.com
08.09.2016LeAnne Ballard@everydaycelebrationseverydaycelebrate.blogspot.com
09.09.2016Sharon Burgess@lilabellelanelilabellelane.blogspot.com
10.09.2016Lauren Wright@mollyandmamamollyandmama.com.au
11.09.2016Kate May@thehomemakerythehomemakery.co.uk/blog/
12.09.2016Debbie Homick@happylittlecottage1happylittlecottage.blogspot.com
13.09.2016Wynn Tan@zakkaartzakkaart.blogspot.com
14.09.2016Kim Kruzich@retro_mamaretro-mama.blogspot.com
15.09.2016Jennie Pickett@cloverandvioletcloverandviolet.com
16.09.2016Veronica AM@VividFelicityvividfelicity.wordpress.com
17.09.2016Nadra Ridgeway@ellisandhiggsellisandhiggs.com
18.09.2016Amanda Woodruff@acraftyfox_amandaacraftyfox.net
19.09.2016Minki Kim@zerianominkikim.com
20.09.2016Sharon Yeager@daisycottagequiltingInstagram
21.09.2016Peta Peace@shequiltsalotshequiltsalot.com
22.09.2016Sarah Scott@piccolostudio_sarahpiccolostudio.com.au
23.09.2016Kristin Cobb@goobadesignsInstagram
24.09.2016Erin Cox@whynotsewquiltswhynotsew.blogspot.com
25.09.2016Kerri Horsley@sewdeerlylovedlovelylittlehandmades.blogspot.com



5 comments:

  1. Lovely creation and
    so glad your son loves
    it!
    Carla from Utah

    ReplyDelete
  2. The atmosphere at castle hill chiropractors is so friendly and warm. You really feel like you get to know the staff there and they learn your name and face so quickly that you end up feeling like part of the family. They are quick and good at what they do. The best chiropractic care in Kellyville massages I have had there are amazing and they also have an acupuncturist that is really good (not my thing but it was interesting to try). I have recommended them to friends and family.best chiropractic care in Kellyville

    ReplyDelete
  3. There are number of programming which oblige the requirements of the tourism and accommodation segments. Travel offices, visit administrators, inns and so forth utilize present day frameworks outfitted with intense applications that work on gigantic databases.Travel & Hospitality

    ReplyDelete
  4. She matched them perfectly with my highlights and low lights of hair extensions. The hair is really nice quality. I like how thick they make the clips so I only need 5 pieces verse other brands I have had to buy two sets to get a full look. She even put them at the end and trimmed them for no extra cost! This place is awesome, wish I would have known about it before!

    clip in hair extensions

    ReplyDelete

 
Blogging tips